A Reflection on Success Metrics

A Reflection on Success Metrics

ยท

3 min read

Prompt: what successful blogging means to me

From Michaela Greiler 's talk during Hashnode Bootcamp II

Admittedly, I'm a numbers person, and by numbers I mean I am victim to the effects of instant gratification from seekng high numbers from vanity metrics (shares, comments, reactions, etc.)

Back in the day, I installed a hit counter on my little web page to see how many people visited. Then, I discovered "guestbooks": where people can leave messages of how much they love/hate you and/or your site.

Screen Shot 2020-11-13 at 8.59.27 AM.png

Every day, I would check the stats and see if I had new entries. If there was at least a ++ increment, I would be content. If there was a significant increase, my day would be made. But if nothing changed, I'd either ask myself, "what can I do better or differently" or just...wallow in self-pity. ๐Ÿ™ƒ

Honestly, success for me is basically the same thing as it's always been: high engagement -- comments, views, shares.

I'm aware that basing my worth and mood on vanity metrics leads to a path fraught with disappointment. I'm also aware that I have brought this upon myself, hard-wiring my worth to my arch-nemesis: numbers.

It begs the question: well, what should my goals really be? What would bring me satisfaction?

Maybe toning down my expectations would be a good starting point. "If I just had one share or comment on this article, that'd be swell!"

Or maybe I should throw out goals all-together and just blog for the hell of it. But that's a bit like plugging my ears and shouting, "la la la la la I can't hear you la la la la"--pointless, annoying, and you know that the issue is right there in front of you still.

tenor.gif

Maybe my success metric should be getting one blog entry out a week. It's straightforward, to the point, and only relies on my own actions. However, is the bare minimum really what I want to do?

I'm having trouble deciding on a non-vanity metric-based goal.

What are yours?

Leave your answer in the comments!


Thanks for reading!

Let's keep in touch on Twitter !

If you like what I write, consider buying me a coffee/some fries !